- Cheap Auto Insurance Quotes

- Cheapest Auto Insurance Finder

- Compare Auto Insurance Quotes

Washington DUI Laws

Washington DUI laws. Drunk driving in the state of Washington.

Washington DUI Laws

Washington has set the Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) levels at .08% for adult drivers of passenger cars. The limit for underage drivers is set at the zero tolerance level just like the majority of the other states. This means that anything over .02% is considered as drunk driving for underage drinkers. A prescription dose of over the counter cough medicine can put an individual over the limit. Commercial drivers are restricted to .04% BAC. When you are caught drinking and driving in Washington you will face a suspension of your license, jail time and steep fines. Washington considers drunk driving to be a crime and the charge can be applied to alcohol, marijuana, cocaine, inhalants and some prescription drugs. If you are convicted you will be required to install the Ignition Interlock Device (IID) on your vehicle at your own expense.

Washington considers you to have agreed to the BAC tests if you are operating a motorized vehicle on Washington roads. Your driver’s license will be taken for a full year automatically if you refuse the test and you will have to go to court. Further refusals will result in harsher penalties and fines which can sometimes be more harsh than the drunk driving penalties. Washington also uses the per se law as their only evidence needed to convict you of a DUI. This means that the refusal to take the test or a test which comes back with a BAC of .08% or higher is all the proof the court needs to convict you. Keep in mind that Washington will charge you with a DUI for individuals who test with a BAC of .08%.

Penalties


Your first DUI offense will result in 24 hours to 1 year of jail time or electronic home monitoring for 15 days. If your BAC is over .15% your jail time increases to 2 days to 1 year or the option of 30 days of electronic home monitoring. Your fines will be a minimum of $865.00 to $5,000.00. If the BAC is .15% or more your minimum fine will be $1,120.50 to $5,000.00. Your license suspension will run 90 days unless your BAC was .15% or above. The jail time for this level of BAC is one year. If a minor age 16 or less is in the vehicle with you the courts will require you to install the IID on your vehicle and 60 days will be added to your sentence. You will be required to obtain SR22 insurance and attendance at a alcohol or drug education program may be required.

Your second DUI offense will result in 30 days to 1 year of jail time and mandatory electronic home monitoring for 60 days. If your BAC is over .15% your jail time increases to 45 days to 1 year and 90 days of mandatory electronic home monitoring. Your fines will be a minimum of $1,120.50 to $5,000.00. If the BAC is .15% or more your minimum fine will be $1,545.50 to $5,000.00. Your license suspension will run 2 years unless your BAC was .15% or above. The jail time for this level of BAC is 900 days. If a minor age 16 or less is in the vehicle with you the courts will require you to install the IID on your vehicle and 60 days will be added to your sentence. You will be required to obtain SR22 insurance and attendance at a alcohol or drug education program may be required.

Your third DUI offense will result in 90 days to 1 year of jail time and mandatory electronic home monitoring for 120 days. If your BAC is over .15% your jail time increases to 120 days to 1 year and 150 days of mandatory electronic home monitoring. Your fines will be a minimum of $1,970.50 to $5,000.00. If the BAC is .15% or more your minimum fine will be $2,820.50 to $5,000.00. Your license suspension will run 3 years unless your BAC was .15% or above. The jail time for this level of BAC is 4 years. If a minor age 16 or less is in the vehicle with you the courts will require you to install the IID on your vehicle and 60 days will be added to your sentence. You will be required to obtain SR22 insurance and attendance at a alcohol or drug education program may be required.