- Cheap Auto Insurance Quotes

- Cheapest Auto Insurance Finder

- Compare Auto Insurance Quotes

Mississippi Auto Insurance Requirements

Mississippi auto insurance laws, minimum requirements and regulations. We help to find cheap auto insurance in Mississippi.

Mississippi Minimum Insurance Laws

The state of Mississippi requires drivers to provide the minimum mandatory liability auto insurance on any registered vehicle in the state. Failure to carry this mandatory liability auto insurance coverage can result in fines, and the loss of your driver’s license. This insurance must be obtained through an authorized insurance company which has received approval from the state of Mississippi. The minimum liability auto insurance coverage in Mississippi is $25,000.00 of bodily injury insurance for each individual, $50,000.00 for two or more injured people and $25,000.00 for property damage.

You must carry proof of insurance with you at all times. Uninsured and underinsured motorist is not required by Mississippi law but the insurance company must offer you the option to purchase this coverage when you buy your minimum coverage. Should you choose not to take this option, you will have to sign a paper stating that you turned down the coverage. Comprehension and collision coverage is not required by the state of Mississippi.

Every motorized vehicle on Mississippi roads must be covered by the minimum liability coverage. This law also applies to rental vehicles. Your insurance policy usually covers rental vehicles. Your Mississippi insurance policy should include coverage for rental vehicles. The credit card you use to rent the car may also cover the insurance on the vehicle. If this is not the case, you will have to purchase the minimum liability auto insurance policy from the rental car company. Policies through the rental company will be about $7.00 to $14.00 per day. Be sure to carry the rental agreement in the car at all times. This is your proof of insurance should you be involved in an accident or get stopped for a traffic violation.

If you are involved in an accident or experience any type of traffic stop in the state of Mississippi, the police officer will request proof of insurance. The police cannot stop you just to check your insurance coverage but they may ask for your proof of insurance when they stop you for another traffic violation. You must have the proof of insurance even if you are not at fault in the case of an accident. All insurance policies in the state are reported electronically by the insurance company as well as any lapses in policy coverage. Allowing your insurance to lapse could result in fines, loss of your license and revocation of your registration. Off-highway vehicles and non-operational vehicles do not require the minimum liability auto insurance.


The penalties for not carrying current minimum liability auto insurance in the state of Mississippi include fines, loss of your driver’s license and registration. You can be fined $1,000.00 and have your driver’s license suspended for one year if you are caught without the proper mandatory liability insurance coverage. This is only for the first offense. Subsequent offenses will result in steeper penalties. If you prove financial responsibility before your court date your fines may be reduced to $100.00. You will have to provide proof of financial responsibility to the Department of Public Safety in order to have your driver’s license reinstated.