- Cheap Auto Insurance Quotes

- Cheapest Auto Insurance Finder

- Compare Auto Insurance Quotes

South Carolina Auto Insurance Requirements

South Carolina auto insurance laws, minimum requirements and regulations. We help to find cheap auto insurance in South Carolina.

South Carolina Minimum Insurance Laws

The state of South Carolina requires drivers to provide the minimum mandatory liability auto insurance on any registered vehicle in the state. This insurance must be obtained through an authorized insurance company which has received approval from the state of South Carolina.
No driver’s license will be issued in the state of South Carolina without proof of the minimum liability auto insurance. The minimum liability auto insurance coverage in South Carolina is $25,000.00 of bodily injury insurance for each individual, $50,000.00 for two or more injured people and $25,000.00 for property damage.

You must carry proof of insurance with you at all times. Uninsured and underinsured motorist is not required by South Carolina law but the insurance company must offer you the option to purchase this coverage when you buy your minimum coverage. Because South Carolina is a Tort state the insurance company may suggest you carry more coverage. Should you choose not to take this option, you will have to sign a paper stating that you turned down the coverage. Comprehension and collision coverage is not required by the state of South Carolina.

Every motorized vehicle on South Carolina roads must be covered by the minimum liability coverage. This law also applies to rental vehicles. Your insurance policy usually covers rental vehicles. The credit card you use to rent the car may also cover the insurance on the vehicle. If this is not the case, you will have to purchase the minimum liability auto insurance policy from the rental car company. This coverage generally is $7.00 to $14.00 per day. Be sure to carry the rental agreement in the car at all times. This is your proof of insurance should you be involved in an accident or get stopped for a traffic violation.

If you are involved in an accident or experience any type of traffic stop in the state of South Carolina, the police officer will request proof of insurance. You must have the proof of insurance even if you are not at fault. If your insurance policy lapses the insurance company is required by the state to notify the DMV. You will have 15 days to prove you have the mandatory coverage whether a lapse is reported by the insurance company or you are stopped and found to have no proof of insurance in the vehicle. Failure to comply and produce the required proof will result in the indefinite loss of your driver’s license. You need to purchase the proper insurance before you apply for or renew your driver’s license. If you do not have proof of insurance your driver’s license will not be issued.


The penalties for not carrying current minimum liability auto insurance in the state of South Carolina include the loss of your driver’s license and registration. Your license may be suspended for indefinitely along with your car’s registration. The suspended registration will mean that no one can operate your vehicle.

Proof of Insurance

Your proof of insurance should be kept in the car at all times. This proof needs to include the name of the insurance company, the policy holder’s name and the names of all persons covered by the insurance policy. It also needs to have the make, model, and year of the vehicle being covered on it. The vehicle’s VIN number and the dates of coverage are also required to assure the law enforcement officer that the insurance is current. This proof can be in the form of an insurance declaration page, an insurance identification card, or a copy of the policy. If the car has been purchases in the last 30 days a bill of sale and proof of prior insurance as well as a receipt showing purchase of current insurance may be used until the proper documents are received.