- Cheap Auto Insurance Quotes

- Cheapest Auto Insurance Finder

- Compare Auto Insurance Quotes

Cheap auto insurance for teenagers in Alaska

Cheap teen auto insurance in Alaska. Alaska auto insurance laws and regulations for teenagers. Cheap car insurance for young drivers in Alaska.

Alaska Teen Insurance Laws

According to Alaska minimum insurance laws, anyone who operates a motorized vehicle is required to have the mandatory auto liability insurance regardless of their age. This law applies to all vehicles, aircraft and watercraft. The minimum liability auto insurance must be current and active when the vehicle is driven on any Alaskan street, highway or other public property. Whether you own the vehicle your teenager drives or they own it, it must be covered by a minimum of $50,000.00 injury or death coverage per person, $100,000.00 for all injuries or deaths combined, and $25,000.00 for property damages. The limits are high in Alaska to reduce the number of lawsuits due to accidents.

You must provide proof that your teen has the minimum liability insurance coverage at the time of the accident regardless of whether or not you or your teenager in this case, is at fault. The teen will be required to fill out a Certificate of Insurance given to them by the police officers who investigate the scene of the accident. If the car your teen drives is a newer vehicle with an outstanding loan amount on it, the teen will also have to be covered by full coverage insurance. This means the car must also have collision and comprehensive insurance. This protects the lender from financial loss should the vehicle receive extensive damage or be totaled.

If you live in an area where registration of your vehicle is not required, you teenager will not be required to carry the mandatory liability auto insurance. Off-highway vehicles and non-working vehicles also do not require the minimum liability insurance coverage. If the accident results in an injury, death or property damage in excess of $500.00, in any area not excluded by Alaska law, your teen must provide proof of auto liability insurance coverage in the state mandated amounts. The Certificate of Insurance form you teen will be asked to fill out at the accident scene is part of the proof of insurance process.

Penalties for Lack of Proof

A lack of proof of the minimum liability auto insurance coverage will result in penalties. These penalties will include the suspension of your teenager’s license for 90 days up to one year. The suspension will be applied in all circumstances where the minimum liability insurance proof is not provided. This includes those times when your teenager was not the cause of the accident. Your teen may be able to get a limited license for work and school if they loose their license. The suspension time for your teen’s license will depend upon the teenager’s previous driving record. Lack of proof of minimum liability auto insurance will result in an automatic suspension of the license. Any violation of the Mandatory Insurance Law (MIL) will also result in a $500.00 fine for the first offense. Further violations will raise the fines to $1,000.00 or a suspension of the license for six months. Depending upon the teen’s driving record, they could receive both the fine and the license suspension.