- Cheap Auto Insurance Quotes

- Cheapest Auto Insurance Finder

- Compare Auto Insurance Quotes

Cheap auto insurance for teenagers in Arkansas

Cheap teen auto insurance in Arkansas. Arkansas auto insurance laws and regulations for teenagers. Cheap car insurance for young drivers in Arkansas.

Teenage Mandatory Auto Insurance in Arkansas

The state of Arkansas requires your teenager to carry the same mandatory auto liability insurance coverage adult drivers do. These laws apply to all motorized vehicles operated on Arkansas roads or public areas. The minimum requirement for insurance on your teen is $25,000.00 of coverage for each individual person injured, $50,000.00 for all persons injured and $25,000.00 for property damage per accident. These are only the minimum amounts required by the state. Most insurance companies will suggest you carry more than these dollar amounts on your teen because they are considered a high risk group. Arkansas is a Torte state which means that should your teenager be the cause of an accident, others involved may sue you for pain, suffering, lost wages and medical expenses. Higher liability auto insurance will protect you financially in such circumstances.


It is important to remember that the penalties applied to adult drivers who do not carry the mandatory auto liability insurance also apply to teenagers. Your teen must have the coverage at all times. Their insurance will also be registered with the state. Acceptable proof in the state of Arkansas is official documentation from the insurance company which states the make, model, year and VIN number of the vehicle, the name of the insurance company, the amount of coverage, the dates of coverage, and the policy holder’s name.

Failure to produce this information at the time of a traffic stop or at the scene of an accident will result in fines and penalties. You must provide proof of insurance whether you are at fault or not. The vehicle’s registration will be suspended and a $250.00 fine will be charged to your teen for failure to provide proof of insurance. If your teen repeats the offense, the fines may rise as high as $1,000.00 along with the possibility of one year in jail. Uninsured and underinsured coverage is not mandatory; nor is collision or comprehensive coverage but with teenagers, it might not be a bad idea to carry it.

Ways to Reduce Teenage Auto Premiums

Adding your teenager to your auto insurance policy will increase your premiums but it is still cheaper to add them to your policy than it is to buy them their own policy in most cases. Your premiums may rise anywhere from $1,200.00 to $4,900.00 per year. The average increase in auto insurance premiums in Arkansas is about $1271.00 per year. Discounts can help with this cost by lowering your premiums between 10-20% in certain cases. A student who maintains a “B” average and successfully completes a state sanctioned driving safety course will help. Don’t buy your teen a luxury car or sports vehicle as these are more expansive to repair and thus require higher coverage limits. Another way to reduce the cost of your teenagers insurance is to help them maintain a clean driving record. One way to do this is to set limits on the number of passengers your teen may have in the car at any one time. This will reduce the chances of an accident by 50%. Another thing that can help reduce the chances of an accident is the time of day the teen is allowed to drive. Most accidents involving teenagers happen between nine o’clock in the evening and six o’clock in the morning. By not allowing your teen to drive between these times, you can reduce their chances of having an accident and damaging their driving record. For every year a teenager maintains a clean driving record, the insurance companies will drop their premiums in most case