- Cheap Auto Insurance Quotes

- Cheapest Auto Insurance Finder

- Compare Auto Insurance Quotes

Cheap auto insurance for teenagers in Florida

Cheap teen auto insurance in Florida. Florida auto insurance laws and regulations for teenagers. Cheap car insurance for young drivers in Florida.

Florida Teen Insurance Laws

Whether the car is registered in your teen’s name or your name, the mandatory automobile insurance laws of Florida still require you to carry the minimum liability auto insurance. The Florida mandatory auto insurance laws require you to carry $10,000.00 of insurance for each individual injured in an accident, $20,000.00 for all injuries incurred in an accident and $10,000.00 for any property damage incurred in an automobile accident to cover your teenager when they are behind the wheel. Insurance companies in Florida may suggest you carry more than the minimum state requirements because of the higher risk of accidents posed by inexperienced teen drivers. Furthermore, following their advice may actually reduce the cost of insuring your teenager. There is no doubt that adding your teenagers to your policy will increase your premiums but it will generally cost less than putting them on their own policy. Encouraging your teen to maintain a “B” grade point average and drive sensibly will help to reduce these added costs to your premiums.

Since Florida is a no fault state, residents are not required to carry personal injury insurance, comprehension, collision, or uninsured/underinsured insurance. Liability insurance will cover the injuries and deaths which are inflicted on all other persons involved in the accident. It will also cover all property damage whether it is another vehicle or a fence. It is strongly suggested that collision and comprehensive insurance be carried for young drivers. Collision covers the damages and replacement costs to the car your teen drives in the case of an accident involving another car, reckless driving, etc even if your teen was not at fault. Comprehensive auto insurance covers accidents involving acts of nature such as four legged animals and accidents caused by bad weather.

The auto insurance coverage must come from a company which has been approved by the state of Florida. You are required to carry proof of insurance with you at all times. This proof must include the VIN number of your vehicle, the make and model of your vehicle, the name of those covered as well as the policy holder and the name of the insurance company and the current effective dates of coverage. If your teen does not provide proof of insurance, they will be fined, could loose their license and the registration to the vehicle.

Adding a teenager to your car insurance policy can raise your premiums from $1,200.00 to $4,900.00 per year. On average, the premium will go up about $2,171.00 per year. As mentioned before, encourage your teen to maintain a “B” grade point average and have them successfully complete a driver safety course to reduce those premiums. Other steps that can be taken are maintaining a clean driving record by avoiding any accidents or traffic tickets, do not give your teen a luxury car or sports car to drive, set a higher deductible, and combine your insurance policy with other policies such as home insurance. You may also want to choose a vehicle with a higher safety rating and anti theft devices installed. Avoiding the most popular vehicles for thieves can also help reduce insurance costs not only on your teenager’s car but also on your car. In Florida these cars are:

1. 1990 Toyota Camry
2. 1994 Honda Accord
3. 2000 Honda Civic
4. 1994 Dodge Caravan
5. 1997 Ford F150
6. 1995 Jeep Cherokee or Grand Cherokee
7. 1996 Ford Taurus
8. 2003 Dodge Ram Pickup
9. 1991 Chevrolet Caprice
10. 2003 Toyota Corolla

Taking these measures can you save from 10% to 15% on your insurance premiums.