- Cheap Auto Insurance Quotes

- Cheapest Auto Insurance Finder

- Compare Auto Insurance Quotes

Cheap auto insurance for teenagers in Indiana

Cheap teen auto insurance in Indiana. Indiana auto insurance laws and regulations for teenagers. Cheap car insurance for young drivers in Indiana.

Teen Insurance Laws in Indiana

All drivers in the state of Indiana must have the minimum mandatory auto liability insurance. This law includes your teenage driver. You must carry $20,000.00 for each individual injured or killed in an accident, $50,000.00 for all the people involved in the accident, and $10,000.00 to cover all property damages. Any new insurance policy will require that they must also have uninsured/underinsured motorist’s bodily injury of $20,000.00/$50,000.00 combined and property damage of $10,000.00. You may also opt to take underinsured motorist for $50,000.00 in place of the uninsured coverage. If you choose to forgo the uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage for your teen, you will be required to sign a paper stating your refusal. You can also expect your premiums to be higher on your teenage driver. Since statistics show that the first year behind the wheel of a car is the prime time for teenage automobile accidents, your insurance company may recommend that you carry comprehensive and collision on your teen as well as raising the limits on your liability insurance and uninsured/underinsured to more than the state requirements.

As the parent, you are required by the state of Indiana to take financial responsibility for your teenage driver. Your teen driver must carry their proof of insurance in the vehicle at all times. You must produce proof of insurance upon request by the authorities. In Indiana, this proof may be in the form of a legal document from the state proving that you have a certificate of self insurance, or have deposited a cash deposit in sufficient amounts to cover damages cause in an accident. The third form of proof is an insurance identification card issued by the insurance company. Information supplied to the DMV by the insurance company will include the name of the insurance company, the dates of coverage, and the amount of liability coverage. It also needs to include the policy number, VIN number of the vehicles covered, the make and model of the vehicles as well as the name of the policy holder. The auto insurance needs to be authorized by a qualified auto insurance company.


Even if the teen is not at fault for an accident, they must provide proof of insurance to the officer on the scene. They must also have proof of insurance for any regular traffic stop and they must have proof of insurance with them if they go to court. Lack of proof will result in fines and possibly the loss of their driver’s license and vehicle’s registration. The penalties will increase with repeat offenses. Upon the first offense, they will be charged up to $150.00 as well as losing their driver’s license for 90 days. With the second offense they will be charged $225.00. If the repeat offense occurs within 3 years of the first, your teen’s license can be revoked for 1 year. All succeeding offenses will result in a $300.00 fine.

Adding your teen to your policy will generally be less expensive than putting them on their own auto insurance policy. Even then, the cost of adding your teen to your insurance policy will raise your premiums from $1200.00 to $4900.00 per year. On average, the premium will raise approximately $2,171.00 per year.

For each successive year that your teen maintains a good driving record, the premiums will most likely go down. To maintain a good driving record, your teen cannot have any traffic violations or accidents on their driving record. They cannot be picked up for a DUI or talking on their cell phone. Safety devices such as anti-lock brakes side air bags, automatic seat belts and daytime running lights may also reduce your premiums.

In addition to a clean driving record, teens who maintain a “B” grade point average will also receive a discount on insurance premiums. Another discount available for teens will be given when the teen has successfully completed a state approved safe driving course. The type of car your teen drives will also affect your insurance premiums. Don’t put your teen in a luxury car or sports car. It may also help lower your premiums if you avoid the top 10 stolen cares in the state of Connecticut. These cars include:

Top 10 Stolen Vehicles

1. 1993 Oldsmobile Cutlass
2. 1997 Chevrolet Cavalier
3. 1997 Ford Taurus
4. 1995 Pontiac Grand Am
5. 1990 Buick LeSabre
6. 1989 Oldsmobile Delta 88
7. 1988 Chevrolet C/K 1500 Pickup (full size)
8. 1997 Ford F150
9. 1991 Chevrolet Caprice
10. 1991 Chevrolet Blazer

Following these guidelines will save you between 10 to 15% on your auto insurance premiums for your teenage driver.