- Cheap Auto Insurance Quotes

- Cheapest Auto Insurance Finder

- Compare Auto Insurance Quotes

Cheap auto insurance for teenagers in Kansas

Cheap teen auto insurance in Kansas. Kansas auto insurance laws and regulations for teenagers. Cheap car insurance for young drivers in Kansas.

Kansas Teen insurance Laws


Whether the car is registered in your teen’s name or your name, the mandatory automobile insurance laws of Kansas still require you to carry the minimum liability auto insurance. The Kansas mandatory auto insurance laws require you to carry $25,000.00 of insurance for each individual injured in an accident, $50,000.00 for all injuries incurred in an accident and $10,000.00 for any property damage incurred in an automobile accident to cover your teenager when they are behind the wheel. You will also be required to have uninsured and underinsured coverage in the amounts of $25,000.00 per person and $50,000.00 per accident. In addition to this coverage, your policy must include personal injury protection (PIP) of $4,500.00 medical coverage per person, disability or loss of income coverage of $900.00 per month for one year, $25.00 per day for in home care, funeral and burial expenses of $2,000.00, and $4,500.00 for rehabilitation expenses. You must also carry $900.00 per month of survivor benefits for disability and loss of income for one year and $25.00 per day for home care up to one year in time.

Insurance companies in Kansas may suggest you carry more than the minimum state requirements because of the higher risk of accidents posed by inexperienced teen drivers. Furthermore, following their advice may actually reduce the cost of insuring your teenager. There is no doubt that adding your teenagers to your policy will increase your premiums from $1,200.00 to $4,900.00 per year with the average premium of around $2,171.00, but it will generally cost less than putting them on their own policy. Encouraging your teen to maintain a “B” grade point average and drive sensibly will help to reduce these added costs to your premiums.

Kansas is a No Fault state. For this reason, Kansas will require you to carry uninsured and underinsured coverage as well as personal injury protection. (PIP) It is strongly suggested that collision and comprehensive insurance be carried for young drivers. Collision covers the damages and replacement costs to the car your teen drives in the case of an accident involving another car, reckless driving, etc even if your teen was at fault. Comprehensive auto insurance covers accidents involving acts of nature such as four legged animals and accidents caused by bad weather.

Proof of Coverage


The auto insurance coverage must come from a company which has been approved by the state of Kansas. You are required to carry proof of insurance with you at all times. This proof must include the VIN number of your vehicle, the make and model of your vehicle, the name of those covered as well as the policy holder and the name of the insurance company and the current effective dates of coverage. This is usually a card supplied by the insuring company stating that you have adequate coverage. It needs to be kept in your car at all times. If your teen does not provide proof of insurance, they will be fined, could loose their license and the registration to the vehicle. They will have to provide proof of the minimum liability insurance in order to restore their license and registration at the end of their suspension.

Penalties


Your teen’s first offense will result in a class B misdemeanor and they will be charged $300.00 to $1,000.00 in fines. If they do not pay their fine they will serve 6 months in the county jail. With the second offense your teen will be charged with a class “A” misdemeanor and fined $800.00 to $2,500.00. Their vehicle’s registration and their driver’s license will be suspended. Your teen will have to show the court proof of financial responsibility (SR-22) and pay reinstatement fees to get their license and registration reinstated.

Ways to reduce the cost of your premiums for your teenage driver include good grades and maintaining a clean driving record. Enroll your teen in a sanctioned driver’s education course and encourage them to successfully pass it. Do not put your teenager in a luxury or sports car and be aware of the most frequently stolen cars in Kansas.

Top Ten Stolen Cars


1. 1987 Oldsmobile cutlass
2. 1988 Chevrolet C/K 1500 Pickup (full size)
3. 1997 Ford F150
4. 1994 Honda Accord
5. 1991 Chevrolet Caprice
6. 1996 Ford Taurus
7. 1993 Pontiac Grand Am
8. 1990 Buick LeSabre
9. 1991 Chevrolet Blazer
10. 2000 Honda Civic