- Cheap Auto Insurance Quotes

- Cheapest Auto Insurance Finder

- Compare Auto Insurance Quotes

Cheap auto insurance for teenagers in Pennsylvania

Cheap teen auto insurance in Pennsylvania. Pennsylvania auto insurance laws and regulations for teenagers. Cheap car insurance for young drivers in Pennsylvania.

Pennsylvania Teen Insurance Laws


Pennsylvania has several forms of a bill which will ban cell phone use and texting. Although the bill has not passed legislation yet one of the items outlined is a $50.00 fine if you are caught talking on a cell phone or texting while driving. Hands free devices and GPS systems are not included in the current form of the bill. The areas of Conshohocken, Hilltown Township and Lebanon already have a hands-free driving law in place.

Whether the car in registered in your teen’s name or your name, the mandatory automobile insurance laws of Pennsylvania still require you to carry the minimum liability auto insurance. The Pennsylvania mandatory auto insurance laws require you to carry $15,000.00 of insurance for each individual injured in an accident, $30,000.00 for all injuries incurred in an accident and $5,000.00 for any property damage incurred in an automobile accident to cover your teenager when they are behind the wheel. They must also carry $5,000.00 of Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance. Insurance companies in Pennsylvania may suggest you carry more than the minimum state requirements because of the higher risk of accidents posed by inexperienced teen drivers. Furthermore, following their advice may actually reduce the cost of insuring your teenager. There is no doubt that adding your teenagers to your policy will increase your premiums but it will generally cost less than putting them on their own policy. Encouraging your teen to maintain a “B” grade point average and drive sensibly will help to reduce these added costs to your premiums.

Since Pennsylvania is a Torte state, the person causing the accident can be sued for pain, suffering, lost wages and medical costs which result from the accident. For this reason, it is a good idea to carry more than the minimum required auto liability insurance on teens. Liability insurance will cover the injuries and deaths which are inflicted on all other persons involved in the accident. It will also cover all property damage whether it is another vehicle or a fence. It is strongly suggested that collision and comprehensive insurance be carried for young drivers. Collision covers the damages and replacement costs to the car your teen drives in the case of an accident involving another car, reckless driving, etc even if your teen was at fault. Comprehensive auto insurance covers accidents involving acts of nature such as four legged animals and accidents caused by bad weather.

The auto insurance coverage must come from a company which has been approved by the state of Pennsylvania. You are required to carry proof of insurance with you at all times. This proof must include the VIN number of your vehicle, the make and model of your vehicle, the name of those covered as well as the policy holder, individuals covered by the policy, the name of the insurance company and the current effective dates of coverage. If your teen does not provide proof of insurance, they will be fined, could lose their license and the registration to the vehicle.
The fines will be a minimum of $300.00, and a three month suspension of their vehicle registration and driver’s license for the first offence. They will have to pay restoration fees for the vehicle registration of $50.00 and a driver’s license reinstatement fee of $50.00 in order to get them back. They may also have to bail the vehicle out if the authorities put it in the impound lot.

Proof of proper liability auto insurance coverage generally includes a temporary insurance card, premium receipt or insurance binder, a declaration page stating the liability auto insurance coverage, the insurance policy, or proof that they had insurance in the last 60 days on a vehicle which has been replaced by the current vehicle. The policy must be from an approved auto insurance provided in the state of Pennsylvania.