- Cheap Auto Insurance Quotes

- Cheapest Auto Insurance Finder

- Compare Auto Insurance Quotes

Cheap auto insurance for teenagers in Washington

Cheap teen auto insurance in Washington. Washington auto insurance laws and regulations for teenagers. Cheap car insurance for young drivers in Washington.

Washington Teen Insurance Laws

All drivers in the state of Washington must have the minimum mandatory auto liability insurance. This law includes your teenage driver. You must carry $25,000.00 for each individual injured or killed in an accident, $50,000.00 for all the people involved in the accident, and $10,000.00 to cover all property damages. Underinsured and uninsured coverage is not required in the state of Washington but your agent may strongly suggest you carry this protection on your teenager. Since statistics show that the first year behind the wheel of a car is the prime time for teenage automobile accidents, your insurance company may recommend that you carry comprehensive and collision on your teen as well as raising the limits on your liability insurance and uninsured/underinsured to more than the state requirements.

As the parent, you are required by the state of Washington to take financial responsibility for your teenage driver. Your teen driver must carry their proof of insurance in the vehicle at all times. You must produce proof of insurance upon request by the authorities. In Washington, this is the Insurance Identification Card. This card will include the name of the insurance company and the policy holder’s name, and the policy number. It also needs to have the make, model, and year of the vehicle being covered on it. The vehicle’s VIN number and the dates of coverage which would include the effective dates and the expiration date will also be required information on this card. The auto insurance needs to be authorized by a qualified auto insurance company. Even if the teen is not at fault for an accident, they must provide proof of insurance to the officer on the scene. They must also have proof of insurance for any regular traffic stop. The penalties for not carrying current minimum liability auto insurance in the state of Washington include fines, and possible misdemeanor charges. Do not lie to the state about your insurance coverage. You will be charged with a misdemeanor. The fine for not having the proper insurance coverage is $450.00 or more.

Washington has promoted the use of wireless communications devices without a hands free device as a primary offense. This means that you and your teen can be ticketed if you are observed using a cell phone or other device which requires the use of your hands. In addition, instruction permits and intermediate license holders are not allowed to use any wireless communications devices while operating a motorized vehicle. Text messaging is completely forbidden while operating a motorized vehicle.

Adding your teen to your policy will generally be less expensive than putting them on their own auto insurance policy. Even then, the cost of adding your teen to your insurance policy will raise your premiums from $1200.00 to $4900.00 per year. On average, the premium will raise approximately $2,171.00 per year.

For each successive year that your teen maintains a good driving record, the premiums will most likely go down. To maintain a good driving record, your teen cannot have any traffic violations or accidents on their driving record. They cannot be picked up for a DUI or talking on their cell phone. Safety devices such as anti-lock brakes side air bags, automatic seat belts and daytime running lights may also reduce your premiums.

In addition to a clean driving record, teens who maintain a “B” grade point average will also receive a discount on insurance premiums. Another discount available for teens will be given when the teen has successfully completed a state approved safe driving course. The type of car your teen drives will also affect your insurance premiums. Don’t put your teen in a luxury car or sports car. It may also help lower your premiums if you avoid the top 10 stolen cars in the state of Washington. These cars include:

1. 1996 Honda Accord
2. 1995 Honda Civic
3. 1990 Toyota Camry
4. 1994 Dodge Caravan
5. 1996 Jeep Cherokee/Grand Cherokee
6. 1997 Ford Taurus
7. 1994 Plymouth Voyager
8. 1997 Ford Explorer
9. 2004 Chevrolet Cavalier
10. 2004 Ford F150

Following these guidelines will save you between 10 to 15% on your auto insurance premiums for your teenage driver.