- Cheap Auto Insurance Quotes

- Cheapest Auto Insurance Finder

- Compare Auto Insurance Quotes

Cheap auto insurance for teenagers in West Virginia

Cheap teen auto insurance in West Virginia. West Virginia auto insurance laws and regulations for teenagers. Cheap car insurance for young drivers in West Virginia.

West Virginia Teen insurance Laws


Whether the car in registered in your teen’s name or your name, the mandatory automobile insurance laws of West Virginia still require you to carry the minimum liability auto insurance. The West Virginia mandatory auto insurance laws require you to carry $20,000.00 of insurance for each individual injured in an accident, $40,000.00 for all injuries incurred in an accident and $10,000.00 for any property damage incurred in an automobile accident to cover your teenager when they are behind the wheel. Although uninsured and underinsured coverage is not required, the state of West Virginia does suggest that you carry this coverage in at least the minimum required amounts of liability insurance. Insurance companies in West Virginia may suggest you carry more than the minimum state requirements because of the higher risk of accidents posed by inexperienced teen drivers. Furthermore, following their advice may actually reduce the cost of insuring your teenager. There is no doubt that adding your teenagers to your policy will increase your premiums but it will generally cost less than putting them on their own policy. Encouraging your teen to maintain a “B” grade point average and drive sensibly will help to reduce these added costs to your premiums.

Since West Virginia is a Torte state, the person causing the accident can be sued for pain, suffering, lost wages and medical costs which result from the accident. For this reason, it is a good idea to carry more than the minimum required auto liability insurance on teens. Liability insurance will cover the injuries and deaths which are inflicted on all other persons involved in the accident. It will also cover all property damage whether it is another vehicle or a fence. It is strongly suggested that collision and comprehensive insurance be carried for young drivers. Collision covers the damages and replacement costs to the car your teen drives in the case of an accident involving another car, reckless driving, etc even if your teen was at fault. Comprehensive auto insurance covers accidents involving acts of nature such as four legged animals and accidents caused by bad weather.

The auto insurance coverage must come from a company which has been approved by the state of West Virginia. You are required to carry proof of insurance with you at all times. This proof must include the VIN number of your vehicle, the make and model of your vehicle, the name of those covered as well as the policy holder and the name of the insurance company and the current effective dates of coverage. If your teen does not provide proof of insurance, they will be fined, could lose their license and the registration to the vehicle. They will have to provide proof of the minimum liability insurance in order to restore their license and registration at the end of their suspension along with paying a $100.00 fine and $50.00 in reinstatement fees. Their license may be suspended for 30 days the first time they are caught without proper proof of coverage and 90 days for the second offense.

West Virginia has a cell phone law in place for level one or a level two licensed driver who is under the age of 18. These drivers cannot use a cell phone or other wireless communication device while operating a motorized vehicle. The laws also apply to hands free devices also. There are no exceptions to these laws. The penalties are $25.00 for the first offense, $50.00 for the second offense and $75.00 for the third offense.

Proof of proper liability auto insurance coverage includes a temporary insurance card or an insurance identification card, premium receipt or insurance binder, a declaration page stating your liability auto insurance coverage, the insurance policy, or proof that you had insurance in the last 60 days on a vehicle which has been replaced by the current vehicle. The policy must be from an approved auto insurance provided in the state of West Virginia.

Ways to reduce the cost of your teenager’s coverage include maintaining good grades and successfully completing a course on safe driving skills. Including the young driver will generally be less expensive than putting them on their own policy. Do not put your teenager in a sports car or a luxury car as this will result in higher premiums due to the fact that these vehicles are more expensive to fix and more tempting to break the traffic laws in. It may also be wise to avoid the most frequently stolen vehicles in your state. In West Virginia, these vehicles are:

Top Ten Stolen Cars


1. 1991 Chevrolet S-10 Pickup
2. 1996 Chevrolet Cavalier
3. 1991 Ford Ranger
4. 1998 Ford F150 Series
5. 1999 Honda TRX300 Series
6. 2002 Honda TRX450 Series
7. 1999 Pontiac Grand Am
8. 1996 Chevrolet Blazer
9. 1994 Chevrolet C/K 1500 Pickup (Full Size)
10. 1998 Jeep Cherokee/Grand Cherokee